Que Sera Sera

Posted On February 27, 2009

Filed under Uncategorized
Tags:

Comments Dropped leave a response

Mr W has had a new cast put on his foot. He went to the doctor’s yesterday and the old one was removed to reveal a very sore and swollen foot (he’d been putting weight on it) and it was replaced with a very rigid cast. He also got a new pair of crutches, which are apparently sized correctly. The new cast must stay on for a month.

It seems more difficult for Mr W to get around now, and he had a fall, just a little one, whilst getting down the steps outside the house this morning. He just lost his footing for a  moment, luckily I was right behind.  He was on his way to the neurologist, and the news today was that he cannot drive  until the end of July – by which time a whole 6 months will have passed since his seizure. This has plunged me into worry, because I don’t now how i’ll get to work. I’m working on getting my driver’s license, yes, but I don’t know how much longer it will take and I got really frightened today out on a busy road. I felt like I was irritating other motorists by not going fast enough, and  someone overtook me honking their horn and I was mortified.

So for much of today, in spite of promising myself yesterday I was going to adopt a more ‘que sera sera’ attitude to life, I was worried sick. Number One got into trouble at school for telling a teacher to shut up, and I felt too agitated to get much writing done. Mr W and I have been talking again about moving to Sioux City, which we do from time to time, and i’m not sure if it will ever amount to more than talk. The advantages would be  -1. decent schools for the kids (I’ve heard very positive things about the schools in Iowa.  Miss W and Number One are currently attending  the poorest rated schools in our district) 2. being able to afford a house, which we can’t here.

But there seem to be massive roadblocks in the way, and the immediate one is that Mr W is in no shape to get moving anywhere, he really just needs to rest and get better. And of course, in the current economic climate, I’m not at all sure what jobs would be available in Sioux City.

Have to try and stop worrying  for a bit tomorrow because  I’m trying to meet a  deadline. I’ve got a wedding story to finish, and  a Father’s Day story to get written by March 10th.  Think I’ll try to keep humming ‘que sera sera’ .

Cloudy dropped by for lunch and a snooze

Cloudy dropped by for lunch and a snooze